Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Awards

The Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program hosts an annual awards reception following the Spring Symposium to honor students who have exemplified excellence in research. Each college is invited to nominate a student to receive the Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Award on the basis of involvement in long-term research projects, participation in conferences, published research papers, displayed leadership within the research environment, and unique contributions to the field.

College of Computing, 2018

Dezhi (Andy) Fang
Mentor: Dr. Polo Chau

College of Engineering, 2018

David Gomez
School of Aerospace Engineering
Mentor: Dr. Mitchell Walker

Ananyaveena Anilkumar
School of Biomedical Engineering
Mentor: Dr. Susan Thomas

Judy Xie
School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Mentor: Dr. Christopher Jones

Claire Anderson
School of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Mentor: Dr. Joseph Brown

Xiaofan Wu
School of Industrial and Systems Engineering
Mentor: Dr. Siva Theja Maguluri

Andrew Short
School of Materials Science and Engineering
Mentor: Dr. Mark Losego

Prachi Sahoo
School of Mechanical Engineering
Mentor: Dr. William Singhose

Andrew Denig
School of Nuclear and Radiological Engineering
Mentor: Dr. Dan Kotlyar

College of Sciences, 2018

Ann Johnson
Mentor: Dr. Joseph Brown

Calvin Runnels
Mentor: Dr. Loren Williams

Ivan Allen College, 2018

Kathryn Stauduhar
Mentor: Dr. Amy D'Unger

Ali Yildirim
Mentor: Dr. Laura Bier